Prof Neelu Rohmetra of Jammu University is the first woman to be appointed director of an IIM Sirmaur

Prof Neelu Rohmetra of Jammu University is the first woman to be appointed director of an IIM at Sirmaur.

The government on Friday appointed heads of 10 Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs), including the first woman to head one of the 20 premier B-schools in the country. G. Raghuram, a teacher at IIM Ahmedabad for nearly three decades, is chairperson of the Public Systems Group at the premier B-School. He specialises in infrastructure and transport systems, and logistics and supply chain management.

G. Raghuram to head IIM Bangalore, Bharat Bhasker has been named the director of IIM Raipur

The IIMs that got new directors are in Bangalore, Bodhgaya, Sirmaur , Visakhapatnam, Trichy, Nagpur, Sambalpur, Raipur, Rohtak and Ranchi. Some of these posts had been vacant for at least a year. Of the 10 appointees, three are teaching at IIM Lucknow.

Union Ministry of Personnel today appointed Prof Neelu Rohmetra as Director of Indian Institute of Management Sirmaur in Himachal Pradesh. She would be the first woman in recent years to become IIM Director.
According to an order issued by the Ministry of Personnel, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved Prof Neelu Rohmetra’s appointment as Director to the prestigious institute for a period of five years.
As per the senior official of Human Resource Development Ministry, Prof Neelu Rohmetra would be the first woman in recent years to become IIM Director.
“IIMs have been there for decades and as far as recent history goes, the post of Director has been held by men only. However, the appointment of Prof Neelu Rohmetra as the Director of IIM Sirmaur breaks this barrier”, he said, adding “at least in the recent history, she is the first female Director of an IIM”.
Professor Nee-lu Rohmetra, who is currently Rector Kathua and Billawar Campu-ses of Jammu Univers-ity, is a strong academician with significant administrative and research expertise spanning 28 years. During her present assignment, she is involved with the setting up of the University Institute of Engineering and Technology (UIET) sanctioned under RUSA at Kathua campus.
She has previously served as Director, The Business School, Dean Student Placements and Convener Board of Studies in Management for University of Jammu. Moreover, she is the Founder Director of International Centre for Cross-Cultural Research and Human Resource Management (ICccR & HRM), University of Jammu.
With a brilliant academic record and 5 Gold Medals, she has also been able to earn prestigious Awards and Fellowships during her professional career. These include Post-Doc Commonwealth Fellowship (UK), International Visitor Leadership Program of US State Department, USIEF-Fulbright Fellow (USA). She is also a visiting Professor to Oxford University and recipient of Fulbright-Nehru Administ-rator Award Grantee (USA).
She is also Visitor’s Nominee to Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh and is in the Editorial Boards of International Journals and has 90 research papers/chapters in referred journals/books/proceedings and is author/editor of 10 books in management discipline of national and international repute. She has participated and presented her research views in various seminars and conferences at national and international levels.
She has also been the first Coordinator for the National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC) supported Project UDAAN of the J&K State Government besides having worked as the Regional Coordinator for UNICEF and MHA (Government of India) supported Capacity Building Programme for Census 2011.
She is the founder President of Jammu Chapter of National HRD Network and has served as the Executive Member (North) for Association of Indian Management Schools and Executive Member of Jammu Branch Indian Institute of Public Administration.
Prof Neelu Rohmetra is also the recipient of ‘S. Radhakrishnan Best Graduate University of Jammu Gold Medal’ (1985) and ‘The Jammu and Kashmir Bank Best Commerce Graduate University of Jammu Gold Medal’ (1985).  She has been recipient of AICTE, GoI Career Award for Young Teachers below 35 years of age for the year 1999-2001, Association of Indian Management Schools Best Teacher Award for the year 2007, AICTE Research Promotion Scheme (RPS) Award 2004-2008, UFHRD-UK Certification for the ALAN MOON MEMORIAL PRIZE 2009, DEWANG MEHTA LEADERSHIP AWARD for Excellence in Business Education for University of Jammu (2009 and 2012), “International Achiever’s Award for Educational Excellence” 2010 during the “International Achiever’s Summit” at Bangkok, the EDUCATION LEADERSHIP AWARD 2013 during World Education Congress at Mumbai, USIEF -CIES Fulbright Administrators Seminar Grantee, USA 2013, The British Council nomination for the South Asian Skill Development Dialogue in UK 2013.



Post a Comment